Legal Articles
Workers Compensation
Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now

Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.

Workers Compensation in New Mexico

Workplace injuries can occur suddenly and occupational illnesses can develop gradually over time. If you're hurt on the job or diagnosed with a work-related disease, your medical expenses and other associated costs may be covered under New Mexico workers' compensation insurance. Talk to a workers' comp attorney as soon as possible to find out whether you're covered and for assistance in filing a claim.

Things to Know When Hiring a New Mexico Workers' Compensation Attorney

Here are some important things to know before hiring workers' compensation attorneys in New Mexico:

  • New Mexico workers' compensation laws require you to notify your employer of any work-related injury or disease diagnosis within 15 days.
  • Workers' compensation insurance will pay all injury-related medical costs and benefits for lost wages if you're unable to work for more than seven days. Workers will also receive compensation for long-term disabilities.
  • You may not be covered by New Mexico workers' compensation insurance if your employer has fewer than three employees, if you work in a private house or on a farm or ranch, if you're a federal government employee or if you work for a Native American tribe. In these instances, you may have to hire a New Mexico workers' comp lawyer to file a lawsuit against your employer in order to collect compensation.
  • Workers' compensation legal fees are limited under New Mexico law. According to the New Mexico Workers' Compensation Administration, "The law strictly limits the amount of attorney fees that can be paid in workers’ compensation cases. The workers’ compensation judge sets the amount that the worker’s lawyer may be paid, based on the judge’s evaluation of the case. The maximum amount that can be paid to the lawyer for each side is set by law...For cases where the date of maximum medical improvement was July 1, 2003, or later, and that had not been filed for dispute resolution prior to that date, the maximum fee is $16,500."

Find & Hire a Local New Mexico Workers' Comp Lawyer

Need help locating a workers' comp attorney in your area? Good news—you've come to the right website! Whether you're in Albuquerque, Santa Fe, Las Cruces or elsewhere in New Mexico, can quickly match you with a local lawyer. To use our free, no-obligation service, fill out the form on this page or call us at 877-913-7222.