Workers' Compensation in Wyoming
Regardless of your job, workplace injuries and occupational diseases are always a risk. If you're injured or sickened at work, your medical costs and other related expenses will be covered under Wyoming's workers' compensation insurance. For assistance filing a claim or appealing a denied claim, contact a local workers' compensation attorney.
Four Things to Know about Workers' Compensation Insurance
Workers' compensation is a no-fault insurance that automatically covers most Wyoming workers (at no expense to the employee) from their first day on the job. Here are four important things to know if you've been injured on the job or diagnosed with an occupational illness:
- Under Wyoming workers' compensation law, a worker whose injuries are covered by workers' comp insurance cannot sue his or her employer for costs associated with on-the-job injuries. However, workers who are not covered by workers' comp insurance can file a personal injury lawsuit against their employers for job-related injuries and diseases.
- Wyoming workers must notify their employers within 72 hours of realizing they've been injured. Workers must also sign an injury report within 10 days. The employer will then file a report with the Wyoming Workers’ Safety and Compensation Division.
- Employees who file workers' compensation claims are entitled to several benefits, including medical treatment and replacement wages if the worker is temporarily or permanently disabled.
- Workers whose claims are denied may request an appeal hearing with the Office of Administrative Hearings or Workers' Compensation Medical Commission.
Find & Hire Local Wyoming Workers' Compensation Attorneys
Need help locating a workers' comp attorney in your area? Whether you live in Casper, Cheyenne, Laramie or elsewhere in Wyoming, Attorneys.com can match you with local workers' compensation lawyers. To use our free service, fill out the form on this page or call us at 877-913-7222.
Connect with an Attorney nowCall 877.913.7222