Ohio Workers Compensation
Under Ohio law, most employers are required to provide workers' compensation insurance to their employees at no cost to the worker. Workers' comp pays benefits to employees who are injured on the job or diagnosed with an occupational illness. A workers' compensation attorney can guide you through the claims process and explain your legal rights.
Understanding Workers' Compensation Insurance
Workers' compensation insurance is a form of no-fault insurance that covers workers who suffer a variety of work-related injuries, including traumatic physical injuries, repeated trauma injuries, mental injuries and occupational diseases. "No-fault" means that the insurance pays benefits regardless of who is responsible for the injury.
Workers who are injured on the job may be eligible for benefits that include:
- Medical care
- Temporary disability benefits designed to at least partially replace lost wages if you are temporarily unable to work
- Permanent disability benefits designed to at least partially replace lost wages
- Facial disfigurement benefits
- Death benefits
In Ohio, workers' comp coverage is mandatory for companies that have at least one employee, as well as domestic workers who earn at least $160 a quarter from a single employer. Workers' comp insurance coverage begins on your first day of employment regardless of whether you are a part-time or full-time employee.
If you receive workers' compensation benefits following a job-related injury, you cannot sue your employer for additional compensation in connection with your injury. You may, however, be able to file a lawsuit against others involved in your injury. For example, if you were injured in an automobile accident while working and the other driver was at fault, you might be able to sue the other driver. A workers' compensation lawyer can help you understand your legal options.
Filing a Workers' Compensation Claim
If you're injured while at work or develop a job-related occupational disease, promptly seek medical treatment. Make sure to tell the doctor that your injury occurred on the job or in connection with your job.
You must also tell your employer about your injury or disease as soon as possible. Your employer will guide you through the process of notifying its managed care organization and filing a claim with the Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation.
Your claim will be accepted or denied within 28 days. If your claim is denied or if you don't receive the benefits to which you are entitled, you and your workers' comp attorney can file an appeal with the Ohio Industrial Commission.
Find & Hire Local Ohio Workers' Compensation Attorneys
A workers' comp attorney can be an invaluable guide through the process of filing your workers' compensation claim and getting the benefits to which you are entitled. Let Attorneys.com help you find workers' comp lawyers in your area. Whether you live in Columbus, Cincinnati or elsewhere in Ohio, we can quickly connect you with local lawyers. Call us at 877-913-7222 to use our free legal referral service, or complete the form on this page.