Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
The Basics of California Workers' Comp Law
If you work in California and are injured while on the job, you may be eligible for California workers' comp. Under state law, all employers must provide employees with workers' compensation, which is why most businesses purchase California workers' compensation insurance to pay out on legitimate claims.
If you believe you have a workers' comp claim, you should do some independent reading to understand the basics of California workers' comp law. You may also want to reach out to a California workers' compensation attorney in your area to assess your claim.
California Workers' Comp Benefits
If you are injured at work and apply for workers' compensation, you may receive workers' comp benefits. These benefits include compensation for all medical costs related to treatment for your injuries and, in some circumstances, rehabilitation costs.
California workers' comp law also compensates employees who are disabled, whether permanently or temporarily, because of their job. Classifying a disability and determining the proper payout can be very complex process. If you have any questions regarding your own injuries and benefits, you should contact a knowledgeable California workers' comp lawyer.
In addition, you may have to go through a brief waiting period until you receive your benefits. For example, if your disability is classified as temporary total disability, then you will have to wait three days before receiving any benefits. You may also be eligible to receive back payment for any days where you did not receive pay if your disability continues for at least 14 days.
Filing a California Workers' Comp Claim
If you are injured while at work, you should immediately notify your employer that an accident has occurred and you have been injured. You should also seek immediate medical attention.
Your employer will provide you with a claim form, which you must fill out and return. If your employer does not provide you with a claim form, you will want to contact the California Department of Industrial Relations' Division of Workers' Compensation.
Once you fill out the claim form, your employer should send the form to its workers' compensation insurance carrier. Within a day after providing your employer with the claim form, you should be granted coverage of up to $10,000 for medical treatment.
Within 14 days, you should hear from the insurance company regarding your claim. The company may either accept, deny, or delay your claim.
If the claim is delayed, an investigation into your injuries can take up to 90 days to complete. If you do not hear from the insurance company after 90 days or the company denies your claim, contact the Division of Workers' Compensation. You may also want to contact a workers' comp lawyer as well.
California Workers' Comp Resources
If you have additional questions about California workers' comp, including questions about benefits or the claims process, contact the California Division of Workers' Comp or a California workers' compensation lawyer.
If you want more information about workplace safety and how to prevent workplace accidents, you should reach out to your local California OSHA office. OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) is the governmental body in charge of administering workplace safety rules and guidelines.
Finally, if you have further questions about your specific workers' comp claim, contact an attorney in your area.