Texas Traffic Violations
Texas does not mess around when it comes to observing the rules of its roads. The state not only charges one-time fees for certain violations, it also collects annual surcharges. A traffic ticket lawyer can help you avoid such costs if possible.
Convictions That Come With a Surcharge
Moving traffic violations and fines that come with a surcharge fall under the Driver Responsibility Program. If your violation counts as such, you will receive a notice from the Department of Public Safety. Examples of convictions and their surcharges include:
- Six points on your license: $100 and $25 per point above six
- Driving while intoxicated (first offense): $1,000
- Driving while intoxicated after first offense: $1,500
- Driving while intoxicated with a blood alcohol level of 0.16 or higher: $1,000
- Driving without insurance: $250
- Driving with an invalid license: $250
- Driving without a driver's license: $100
Points-based surcharges get reviewed once a year. Others stay in effect for three years. Texas lets you make monthly installment payments for an additional fee. You must respond to a traffic violations criminal offense.
What Happens if You Don't Pay the Surcharge
You must pay the surcharge within 30 days, either in full or the first installment payment. Missed payments result in license suspension. You may make a makeup payment and get your license reinstated only once. After that, you must pay the entire amount to get your license back. Additional service and collection fees apply. The Texas Driver Responsibility Program brochure explains the surcharges. Both surcharges and suspensions can negatively affect your insurance.
Locate a Local Texas Traffic Violations Lawyer Today
If you face an offense that comes with a surcharge, seek legal help. This is good advice for dealing with traffic violations from out of state, as well. A pro can advise you of your options, such as fighting the ticket in court. Call now to speak with a traffic violations attorney in Texas at 877-913-7222.