Truck and Trucking Accidents
Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
Texas Truck and Trucking Accidents
If you were injured in a Texas truck accident that was someone else's fault, you may be entitled to compensation to pay for:
- Past, present, and future medical bills for treatment related to your trucking-accident injuries
- The repair or replacement of your motor vehicle and any property that was damaged or destroyed in the accident
- Lost wages for time off from work (including time spent going to doctor's appointments and physical therapy) for reasons related to your trucking accident injuries
- The cost of hiring someone to do household chores that you're unable to do because of your injury
- Permanent disability and disfigurement stemming from the truck crash
- Emotional distress stemming from the trucking accident
- Any other costs you've incurred because of the accident
If anyone was killed in the truck crash or if either driver was intoxicated, the state of Texas may prosecute the driver at fault and/or the intoxicated driver. In the case of other truck accidents, you may ultimately have to file a truck accident personal injury lawsuit in Texas courts.
How Is Fault Determined?
To collect money stemming from an truck crash injury claim, Texas law requires you to prove that the other driver was negligent. You must show:
- The driver who caused your injuries had a responsibility not to injure you and failed to live up to that duty
- There is a connection between the other driver's responsibility and your injury
- You suffered damages, or a financial loss, as a result of the accident
Texas law will reduce the total amount you can recover if it's found that your carelessness contributed to your truck accident injuries.
How Long Do You Have to File a Claim?
Texas law gives you two years from the date of your truck accident in which to file a bodily injury claim against the party at fault. (This is known as the statute of limitations.) If you and your Texas trucking accident lawyer are unable to negotiate a settlement with the other party (or the their insurance company), you should consider filing a lawsuit before the statute of limitations runs out.
If your injury claim is for less than $10,000, you would file your personal injury lawsuit in the Texas justice court or the Texas constitutional county court that has jurisdiction. For injury claims worth more than $10,000, you would file your lawsuit in the appropriate Texas county courts at law.
Additional Texas Truck Accident Resources
Information about the Texas courts
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's Overview of Federal and State Regulations Concerning Interstate Motor Operations