Slip and Fall Injury
Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
Texas Slip and Fall Injury
Real estate owners and their tenants have a legal obligation under Texas premises liability laws to address hazardous situations and/or warn visitors so they can avoid known hazards. If you've been injured in a slip and fall accident on someone else's property, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries. Talk to a personal injury lawyer or slip and fall attorney to understand your legal options.
Premises Liability Law Basics
Slip and fall accidents are among the most common types of injuries and frequently lead to personal injury lawsuits.
Just as it sounds, a slip and fall accident occurs when you trip over or slip on something on the ground, then fall down and injure yourself. A slip and fall accident may also be known as a trip and fall accident, a stump and fall accident or a step and fall accident.
Slip, trip, stump, step and fall accidents can occur from problems such as water, ice, grease, or food on a walking surface. They can also occur from a poorly maintained walking surface, including broken floorboards or crumbling steps, and in poorly lit areas.
Under Texas law, property owners and their tenants have a legal obligation to:
- Address hazardous situations on their property and make the area safe
- Warn visitors of potentially hazardous situations
At the same time, visitors who encounter a slippery or otherwise dangerous walking surface must also exercise reasonable care to avoid hurting themselves.
Compensation for Slip & Fall Accidents
If you are injured in a slip and fall accident, you may be entitled to compensation for:
- Doctors' bills related to your injuries
- The repair or replacement of eyeglasses, clothing or other property that was damaged or destroyed in the accident
- Lost wages for time off from work
- The cost of hiring someone to do household chores that you're unable to do because of your injury
- Permanent disability and disfigurement stemming from the accident
- Pain and suffering
- Any other costs you've incurred because of the accident
In deciding your case, the judge or jury will look at the comparative negligence of the property owner and of you. In other words, how much of the accident was your fault? How much of it was the property owner's or tenant's fault? This percentage of liability is then used to calculate how much the property owner or tenant must pay you in compensation and how much of the cost you will have to bear.
Filing a Personal Injury Lawsuit
Under Texas law, you have two years from the date of your accident to file a personal injury claim against the party at fault. (This is known as the statute of limitations.)
If your injury claim is for less than $10,000, you would file your lawsuit in the Texas justice court or the Texas constitutional county court that has jurisdiction. For injury claims worth more than $10,000, you would file your lawsuit in the appropriate Texas county courts at law.
Find & Hire Local Texas Slip & Fall Attorneys
Need help locating a slip and fall lawyer or personal injury attorney in your area? Whether you live in San Antonio, Houston, Dallas or elsewhere in Texas, you've come to the right website. Call Attorneys.com at 877-913-7222 or complete the form on this page. Our free service will quickly connect you with local lawyers.