Florida Premises Liability Law and Your Slip-and-Fall Accident
If you've been injured in a slip-and-fall accident in Florida, you may be wondering what your rights are under Florida premises liability law.
First, you need to understand what a slip-and-fall accident is. It is simply what its name suggests: someone slips on a surface, and that slip results in a fall. Falls of this sort often cause injuries. If you have been injured in this type of accident, your first step is to get whatever medical treatment you need. After you've dealt with your injuries, you can decide whether you need to begin searching for Florida slip-and- fall lawyers.
If you weren't hurt in the accident or were not hurt enough to seek treatment, you probably won't need to file a lawsuit. Likewise, if all of your expenses are being covered by insurance, you probably should not contact a lawyer. But if your costs are not being covered or if you don't know how to tally the total cost of your injury, you'll want to find a lawyer who handles Florida premise liability cases.
Florida Premises Liability Law: What You Need to Know
To win your slip-and-fall case, you must prove that the owner of the Florida premises has liability for the accident because he or she was negligent, or neglectful, in keeping the property safe. You also must prove that you suffered damages as a result of that neglect.
All Florida personal injury cases, including slip-and-fall lawsuits, also look at whether the accident victim shares any part of the blame. Therefore, if you were careless and that contributed to the accident, you may be held partly responsible for your injury and thus be awarded less money.
Florida's joint and several liability rules define how much of the damages each person must pay based on how much fault each has for the injury. When two or more parties share the blame, no one person pays the total amount of damages. The responsibility for payment ranges from none for someone found to be 10 percent or less at fault to no more than $1 million for someone more than 50 percent at fault.
If the court determines you have no fault in your own slip-and-fall injury, the payment could be as much as $2 million.
How to Find Florida Slip and Fall Lawyers
Personal injury lawyers are the ones who handle slip-and-fall lawsuits. If you decide to consider filing a lawsuit after a slip-and-fall accident in Florida, you'll need to find a lawyer you trust.
A good place to begin is to ask for referrals from friends or others whose opinions you respect. In addition, you may find valuable lawyer information from sources such as Attorneys.com.
Final Thoughts on Florida Slip-and-Fall Lawsuits
In Florida, premises law liability means that the property owner may be responsible for your accident related expenses such as:
- Medical costs
- Work time lost
- Emotional distress
- Household assistance
Experienced Florida slip-and-fall lawyers can help ensure you receive a settlement or judgment that takes into account all of these injury-related expenses.