Legal Professional?
Build Your Business

New Jersey Personal Injury



If you suffered personal injuries in an accident in New Jersey and it was someone else's fault, you may be entitled to compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.

Types of Personal Injury Cases in New Jersey

Personal injury generally refers to mental and physical injuries to a person's body that are caused by someone else's negligence. These injuries may be minor or may be so severe as to cause the person's death. Personal injury does not include damage or destruction to your property (such as your car or house).

Personal injuries can occur in any number of ways, but causes often include:

How Is Fault Determined in New Jersey Personal Injury Cases?

To collect money stemming from a personal injury claim, New Jersey law requires you to prove another party was negligent. You must show:

  • The party causing your injuries had a responsibility not to injure you and failed to live up to that responsibility
  • There is a connection between the other party's responsibility and your injury
  • You suffered damages, or a financial loss, as a result of your accident

New Jersey law will reduce the total amount you can recover if it's found that your carelessness contributed to your injuries. If it is determined that you are at least 51 percent responsible for your accident, you cannot recover any money from the other party.

Whether you live in Elizabeth, Hamilton, Brick, Union City, or elsewhere in New Jersey, your New Jersey personal injury attorney can help you understand your legal options and collect money from the party at fault in your accident.

Types of New Jersey Personal Injury Compensation

If it's determined that another party's negligence was responsible for your injuries, they may be required to pay for:

  • All medical bills for treatment related to your injuries
  • Permanent disability and disfigurement stemming from the accident
  • Emotional distress from the accident
  • The repair or replacement of any property damaged or destroyed in your New Jersey accident
  • Lost wages for time off from work (including time spent going to doctor's appointments and physical therapy) as a result of your personal injury accident
  • The cost of hiring someone to do household chores that you're unable to do because of your injury that occurred in New Jersey
  • Any other costs you've incurred because of the accident

If you were injured because of a crime committed by someone else, that person may be prosecuted under New Jersey criminal laws. However, you may still have to file a personal injury lawsuit in New Jersey courts to recover money to pay for your injuries.

How Long Do You Have to File a Personal Injury Claim in New Jersey?

New Jersey law gives you two years from the date of your personal injury to file a bodily injury claim against the party at fault. (This time limit is known as the statute of limitations.) If you and your New Jersey personal injury lawyer are unable to negotiate a settlement with the other party (or their insurance company), you should consider filing a lawsuit before the statute of limitations runs out. If you do not file a lawsuit before the statute of limitations expires, then you give up your right to sue the party responsible for your injuries.

Where Do You File a New Jersey Personal Injury Lawsuit?

If your New Jersey personal injury accident claim is for less than $3,000, you would file your personal injury lawsuit in the New Jersey Small Claims Court that has jurisdiction.

For New Jersey personal injury claims worth between $3,000 and $15,000, you would file your lawsuit in the appropriate New Jersey Special Civil Part. For claims of more than $15,000, you would file your lawsuit in the New Jersey Superior Court that has jurisdiction.

Your New Jersey personal injury lawyer can tell you which specific court is the appropriate venue to resolve your dispute.

Additional New Jersey Personal Injury Resources