Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
New Hampshire Personal Injury
If you have experienced a personal injury because of an accident that occurred in New Hampshire and was caused by another, you might be entitled to receive monetary compensation. That recovery or compensation is intended to reimburse you for past and future medical expenses, past and future lost income, and pain and suffering.
Types of Personal Injury Cases in New Hampshire
Personal injury as a legal term depicts mental, physical, and emotional harm or damage to a person caused by another's negligence. The injuries may be relatively minor on a scale of severity, such as a contusion, sprain, or strain, or they may be extreme and devastating, such as permanent paralysis, permanent disability, or gross disfigurement. Further, personal injuries can be as tragic as death. Note that personal injury law does not afford damages of any form for personal or real property destruction, such as to vehicles or real estate.
Personal injuries can happen in a variety of ways. The triggers for many New Hampshire personal injuries fall into one of the following categories:
- car accidents
- truck accidents
- pedestrian accidents
- motorcycle accidents
- bicycle accidents
- catastrophic injuries
- animal attacks and bites
- slips and falls
- drunk driving accidents
- brain injuries
Or there may be other causal factors.
How Is Fault Determined in New Hampshire Personal Injury Cases?
To collect compensation in a personal injury case occurring in New Hampshire, a successful litigant must show the defendant was negligent in conduct and/or acts. Negligence is legally proven by showing the following prongs are met:
- Duty. The party who caused harm or injury (defendant) had a legal duty or responsibility not to cause harm or injury to the plaintiff.
- Breach. The defendant failed to meet this legal duty or responsibility to the plaintiff.
- Causation. There is a causal connection or nexus between the defendant's conduct and the plaintiff's harm or injury.
- Damages. The plaintiff suffered damages, financial harm, or other loss(es) because of the accident or injury.
New Hampshire Has Adopted the Modified Comparative Fault Rule in Negligence
Like 20 other states, New Hampshire has adopted the modified comparative fault rule called the 51 percent bar, with regard to negligence. Pursuant to this rule, an injured party may not recover if he or she is 51 percent or more at fault for his or her own injuries. However, an injured person can recover if he or she is 50 percent or less at fault for his or her injuries. New Hampshire judges and/or juries will likely reduce a prevailing plaintiff's compensation by proportional degree of fault.
Whether you live in Amherst, Concord, Bedford, Dover, Exeter, Derry, Rochester, Salem, or elsewhere in New Hampshire, a personal injury attorney can assist in evaluating, assessing, and determining legal remedies, alternatives, and potential recovery sources for your personal injury claim(s). Note, though, that time may be of the essence in making and prosecuting any legal claim(s). In most cases, initial consultations are provided free of charge to clients.
Find a local New Hampshire personal injury attorney today
A New Hampshire personal injury lawyer can help evaluate your situation and explain your legal options. If the New Hampshire personal injury attorney thinks you have a viable case, your lawyer will gather evidence related to your accident and accident-related expenses. Call now to speak with an attorney at 877-913-7222.