Legal Professional?
Build Your Business

Nevada Personal Injury



If you have experienced a personal injury because of an accident that took place in Nevada and was caused by another person, you might be entitled to receive compensation. That compensation is intended to reimburse for past and future medical expenses, past and future lost income, and pain and suffering.

Types of Personal Injury Cases in Nevada

The legal term personal injury depicts mental, physical, and emotional harm or damage to a person caused by another party's negligent acts or conduct. The personal injuries at issue may be relatively minor on the overall continuum, such as a contusion, sprain, or strain, or they may be extreme and devastating at the opposite end of the spectrum, such as paralysis, permanent disability, or disfigurement. Personal injuries can be as tragic and dire as even death. Note that personal injury, as a body of law, does not afford any form of recovery for personal or real property destruction, such as to cars or homes.

Personal injuries can happen in a variety of ways. Triggers for many Nevada injuries fall into one of the following categories:

Or there may be other causes.

How Is Fault Determined in Nevada Personal Injury Cases?

To collect monetary compensation in a personal injury case venued in Nevada, a prevailing plaintiff must show the defendant was negligent. Negligence, as a legal principle, is proven by establishing the following:

  • Duty. The party who caused harm or injury (defendant) had a legal duty or responsibility not to cause harm or injury to the plaintiff.
  • Breach. The defendant failed to meet this legal duty or responsibility to the plaintiff.
  • Causation. There is a causal connection or nexus between the defendant's conduct and the plaintiff's ultimate harm or injury.
  • Damages. The plaintiff suffered damages, financial harm, or other forms of loss because of the accident or injury that happened.

Nevada Has Adopted the Modified Comparative Fault Rule in Negligence

Like 20 other states, Nevada has adopted and follows the modified comparative fault rule called the 51 percent bar with regard to negligence. Under this rule, an injured party may not recover if he or she is 51 percent or more at fault for his or her injuries. An injured party can recover, however, if he or she is 50 percent or less at fault for his or her injuries. Nevada judges and/or juries will likely reduce a prevailing plaintiff's recovery by the proportional degree of fault.

Whether you live in Vegas, Henderson, Carson City, Reno, Sparks, or elsewhere in Nevada, a personal injury attorney can assist in the evaluation, assessment, and determination of legal remedies, alternatives, and potential recovery sources for your personal injury claim. Time may be of the essence in making and prosecuting your claim. In most cases, initial consultations are provided free of charge.

Find a local Nevada personal injury attorney today

A Nevada personal injury lawyer can help evaluate your situation and explain your legal options. If the Nevada personal injury attorney thinks you have a viable case, your lawyer will gather evidence related to your accident and accident-related expenses. Call now to speak with an attorney at 877-913-7222.

Additional Nevada Personal Injury Resources