Georgia Motorcycle Accidents
If you were injured in a Georgia motorcycle accident that was someone else's fault, you may be entitled to compensation to pay for:
- Past, present, and future medical bills for treatment related to your motorcycle accident injuries
- The repair or replacement of your motor vehicle and any property that was damaged or destroyed in the accident
- Lost wages for time off from work (including time spent going to doctor's appointments and physical therapy)
- The cost of hiring someone to do household chores that you're unable to do because of your injury
- Permanent disability and disfigurement stemming from the motorcycle crash
- Emotional distress stemming from the motorcycle accident
- Any lost future earning ability due to your motorcycle accident injury
- Any other costs you've incurred because of the accident
If anyone was killed in the motorcycle crash or if either driver was intoxicated, the state of Georgia will prosecute the driver at fault and/or the intoxicated driver. In the case of other motorcycle accidents, you may ultimately have to file a motorcycle accident personal injury lawsuit in Georgia courts.
How Is Fault Determined?
To collect money stemming from an motorcycle crash injury claim, Georgia law requires you to prove that the other driver was negligent. You must show:
- The driver who caused your injuries had a responsibility not to injure you and failed to live up to that duty
- There is a connection between the other driver's responsibility and your injury
- You suffered damages, or a financial loss, as a result of the accident
Georgia law will reduce the total amount you can recover if it's found that your carelessness contributed to your motorcycle accident injuries.
How Long Do You Have to File a Claim?
Georgia law gives you two years from the date of your motorcycle accident to file a claim against the driver at fault in the accident, and four years if you are claiming loss of consortium. (This is known as the statute of limitations.) If you and your Georgia motorcycle accident lawyer are unable to negotiate a settlement with the other driver (or the driver's insurance company), you should consider filing a lawsuit before the statute of limitations runs out.
Georgia Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Georgia laws require all drivers to have liability insurance coverage with the following minimum limits:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per crash
Additional Georgia Motorcycle Accident Resources
Georgia Department of Public Safety rules & regulations
Georgia Department of Transportation Crash Data and Crash Reports
The American Motorcyclist Association's summary of Georgia state motorcycle laws
Connect with an Attorney nowCall 877.913.7222