Boat & Boating Accidents
Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
New Jersey Boat & Boating Accidents
Boating accidents are, sadly, a fact of life in the United States. New Jersey saw 119 accidents in 2011, eight of them fatal, according to U.S. Coast Guard data. If you've been in an accident, a boating accident lawyer can help you understand your options.
Steps to Take After a Boat Accident
If you can do so safely, you should help any injured persons and exchange contact information with all persons involved in the incident.
You will also need to file a written report if the accident caused:
- Serious injury needing more than basic first aid treatment
- The disappearance of a person
- Property damage more than $2,000
In the case of death or disappearance, file the report with the nearest New Jersey State Police, Marine Law Enforcement station within three days. For other reportable incidents, file your report within 10 days, also to the nearest station.
Safe Boating Requirements
New Jersey requires you to follow safe boating procedures. This means you may not do things that are likely to cause an accident, such as:
- Getting too close to swimmers, water-skiers and others in the water
- Heading straight for a boat and swerving only at the last minute
- Allowing passengers to sit on the gunwales or seat backs
If you do not follow these and other rules and you get into an accident, you could be held legally responsible for that accident. You must also keep enough life preservers and fire extinguishers on board. If someone is injured or dies because you didn't have these things, you could be liable even if the accident was not your fault.
Locate a Local New Jersey Boating Accident Lawyer Today