Boating Accidents in Missouri
Have you been hurt or did you lose property in a boat accident in Missouri? Disaster sometimes strikes for reasons beyond our control. But all too often accidents result from someone else’s carelessness. If so, you may be due compensation for your losses. Missouri boat accident attorneys deal with these types of cases every day and can make a big difference in the outcome of yours.
Boating Laws in Missouri
Boat safety is a top priority in Missouri. The law requires you to obtain a boating safety identification card before operating a vessel on the state’s lakes. The requirement applies to anyone born after Jan. 1, 1984. To get the card, you must either:
- Take an approved boat safety course.
- Pass an equivalency exam.
- Have a valid master, mate, or operator license issued by the U.S. Coast Guard.
Missouri law also requires you to report boat accidents that result in:
- Serious injury
- Damage that exceeds $500
You must file within 48 hours in the event of death or serious injury. You have five days to report other incidents.
What to Expect From a Boat Accidents Lawsuit
No two lawsuits are the same. A first early step in most cases is to collect evidence. Your attorney may ask for:
- Copies of your medical bills
- Medical records detailing your injuries
- Photos of your injuries
- Photos of property damage
- Estimates for repair or replacement of damaged property
- Statements from witnesses
- Pay stubs or payroll records, if you had to miss work
Not all cases go to trial. Sometimes the person who caused the accident, or his or her insurance company, may try to work out a settlement to avoid court. There are pros and cons to settling. Your lawyer can help you make an informed decision.
Locate a Local Missouri Boat Attorney Today
If you are in a boating accident, ensuring the safety of everyone involved should be your top priority. Protecting your legal best interests should not be far down the list. Call now to speak with a boating accidents lawyer in Missouri at 877-913-7222.