DUI or DWI
Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
Maine DUI and DWI
Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) are serious crimes in Maine. A conviction could affect your job, insurance, education, and personal freedom. You may face jail, fines, or other punishments. And you could lose your driving privileges. Whether you are a first-time or repeat offender, a Maine DUI attorney can help mount a strong defense.
Do I Have to Take Field Sobriety Tests in Maine?
No, you do not. Field sobriety tests, if they are to be used as evidence in court, have to be voluntary. Police cannot force you to take them. Statements you make in refusing such tests, however, can be used against you. So, it is best to decline politely. Simply explain that you do not wish to voluntarily take the tests. Then, leave it at that.
Should I Submit to Chemical Tests?
If you refuse chemical tests in Maine, you driver's license will be suspended for 275 days. This happens before you even have a hearing. If you request an administrative hearing, the suspension period lasts until the date of your hearing. If you lose the hearing, you cannot get even a work-restricted driver’s license until 180 days have passed. And you must complete counseling to get it.
In criminal cases, if you are convicted and refused chemical testing, your license will be suspended for an additional 90 or more days. You will also face a minimum jail term of four days, plus a fine. Multiple offenders should expect more severe penalties.
If you take a chemical test, you still face a 90-day minimum suspension for first offenses. But you can keep your license until the hearing date. If you lose the hearing, you can get a work-restricted license.
Locate a Local Maine DUI Attorney Today
Driving under the influence lawyers in Maine know how to defend clients charged with drunk driving. They zero in on weaknesses and flaws in police testing equipment, conditions, and methods. Your driving privileges, personal records, and liberties are all at stake. Call now to speak with a driving under the influence lawyer in Maine at 877-913-7222.