DUI or DWI
Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
Arkansas DUI and DWI
Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) are serious offenses in Arkansas. They put you and others at risk. And the stakes are high—loss of property, limb, or even life. You may face jail time, fines or other punishment. And your driver's license could be suspended or revoked. An Arkansas DUI attorney can help you mount a strong defense.
What Is a DWI in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, DUI law has two parts. It is unlawful to operate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle if:
- You are intoxicated.
- The alcohol concentration in your blood is .08 or higher.
You can be convicted under either one of these parts of the law.
What Are the Punishments for DUIs?
In Arkansas, penalties vary by level of offense:
- First Offense: one day to one year in jail; $150 to 1,000 in fines; $300 court courts; alcohol awareness class; and suspension of driver’s license for six months. Find out if there is any leniency for a first offense.
- Second Offense: seven days to one year in jail; $400 to 3,000 in fines; $300 court courts; alcohol awareness class; and if arrested after July 31, 2009, eligible for interlock after 45 days
- Third Offense: 90 days to one year in jail; $900 to 5,000 in fines; $300 court costs, alcohol awareness class; and if arrested after July 31, 2009, eligible for interlock after 45 days
- Fourth Offense: one to six years in jail; $10,000 maximum fine; $300 court costs; revocation of driver's license for four years; and alcohol education class
What Is an Interlock Device?
An interlock device attaches to your car's ignition. It tests your breath for traces of alcohol. If it detects any, the car will not start. Local providers offer the device. Costs for installation and monthly maintenance vary.
Contact a Local DWI Lawyer Today
Driving under the influence lawyers in Arkansas can leverage knowledge of testing equipment, conditions, methods, and law enforcement processes as part of your defense. They can help protect your driving privileges; driving, criminal, and employment records; and personal freedoms. Call today to speak with an Arkansas driving while intoxicated lawyer at 877-913-7222.