Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
Divorce in Wyoming
Before filing for divorce in Wyoming, you should hire a divorce lawyer and familiarize yourself with the requirements and process for obtaining a divorce. Ethically, your attorney can only represent you in divorce proceedings. Your spouse will have to hire his or her own divorce attorney.
Wyoming Divorce Requirements
Under Wyoming divorce law, you must be a state resident for at least 60 days before filing for divorce. Alternately, you may file for divorce if you were married in the state and have remained a resident since you were married.
To begin divorce proceedings, your attorney will file a complaint for divorce in the Wyoming District Court in the county where either you or your spouse resides. Your spouse will then be served with a summons which requires him or her to file an answer to the complaint for divorce within 20 days (30 days if your spouse lives outside of Wyoming).
The Wyoming District Court judge assigned to hear your divorce case will also address issues related to:
- Alimony, also known as spousal support
- Property division
- Child custody
- Child support
Find & Hire a Local Wyoming Divorce Lawyer
Whether you live in Casper, Cheyenne, Laramie or elsewhere in Wyoming, Attorneys.com offers a free service that can help connect you with divorce attorneys in your area. Call us at 877-913-7222 or complete the form on this page to get started. We'll ask you a few simple questions, then we'll quickly match you with a local lawyer.