Divorce in Kentucky
To get a divorce in Kentucky, either you or your spouse must be a legal resident of the state for at least 180 days and you must have lived apart for at least 60 days. If the wife is pregnant, the divorce will not be granted until after the child is born. Your Kentucky divorce attorney can guide you through the process of filing for and finalizing your divorce. Kentucky divorce attorneys can also help you and your spouse negotiate a mutually agreeable divorce agreement.
Things to Know Before Hiring a Kentucky Divorce Lawyer
Before beginning the divorce process, here are some important things to know:
- You are not required to hire a Kentucky family law attorney, but it's strongly recommended, particularly if you and your spouse have minor children, significant assets, own property together or have difficulty communicating directly with one another. Ethics laws prohibit the same attorney from representing both of you.
- If you and your spouse have children together, you may be required to attend a court-mandated divorce education program.
- When making child custody decisions, the judge will try to determine the best interests of the child.
- Both parents are expected to contribute to the financial costs of raising a child. Typically, this means that the non-custodial parent will pay child support to the parent with whom the child lives most of the time.
Find & Hire Kentucky Divorce Lawyers
Call Attorneys.com at 877-913-7222 or complete the form on this page if you need help finding Kentucky family law lawyers in your area. Our free service can quickly match you with local Kentucky divorce attorneys.
Connect with an Attorney nowCall 877.913.7222