Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
Virginia Auto Accidents
If you were injured in a Virginia car accident that was someone else's fault, you may be entitled to compensation to pay for:
- Past, present, and future medical bills for treatment related to your Virginia auto-accident injuries
- The repair or replacement of your motor vehicle and any property damaged or destroyed in the traffic accident
- Lost wages for time off from work (including time spent going to doctor's appointments and physical therapy)
- The cost of hiring someone to do household chores you're unable to do because of your personal injury
- Permanent disability and disfigurement stemming from the Virginia car crash
- Emotional distress stemming from the Virginia auto accident
- Any other costs you've incurred because of the car accident
If anyone was killed in the car crash or if either driver was intoxicated, the Commonwealth of Virginia will prosecute the driver at fault and/or the intoxicated driver. However, you may still have to file a lawsuit for personal injury in Virginia courts to recover money to pay for your accident-related expenses.
Whether you live in Virginia Beach, Richmond, Portsmouth, Dale City, or elsewhere in Virginia, a local automobile accident attorney can advise you on your specific legal options and help you collect the money to which you are entitled.
How Is Fault Determined in Virginia Car Accidents?
To collect money stemming from a car crash injury claim, Virginia law requires you to prove the other driver was negligent. You must show:
- The driver who caused your injuries had a duty not to injure you and failed to live up to that duty
- There is a connection between the other driver's duty and your injury
- You suffered damages, or a financial loss, as a result of the injury
Note that according to Virginia law, if you bear any responsibility for your accident, you cannot recover any money from the other party.
How Long Do You Have to File an Auto Accident Claim?
Virginia law gives you two years from the date of your automobile accident to file a claim against the driver at fault in the accident. (This time limit is known as the statute of limitations.)
If you and your Virginia auto accident lawyer are unable to negotiate a settlement with the other driver (or the driver's insurance company), you should consider filing a lawsuit before the statute of limitations runs out. If you fail to file a lawsuit within two years, you will give up your rights to sue.
Where Would You File an Accident Injury Lawsuit?
For Virginia car crash injury claims worth more than $4,500, you would file your lawsuit in the appropriate Virginia Circuit Court.
If your Virginia automobile accident claim is for less than $4,500, you would file your personal injury lawsuit in the Virginia General District Court that has jurisdiction.
Your Virginia auto accident lawyer can tell you which specific court is the appropriate court to resolve your dispute.
Virginia Automobile Insurance Requirements
Virginia laws require all drivers to have the following mandatory automobile insurance:
- Bodily injury/death of one person $25,000
- Bodily injury/death of two or more persons $50,000
- Property damage $20,000
Locate a Virginia Car Accident Lawyer Today
A Virginia car accident lawyer will represent you in court, evaluate your case, and assess the probable damages stemming from the car crash. He will highlight strengths and weaknesses of your case and outline a timeline for negotiating or litigating your claims. A car collision lawyer can help you navigate Virginia’s court system and best position your claim for optimal recovery. Call now to speak with an auto collision attorney in Virginia at 877-913-7222.