When Should You Hire an Oregon Car Accident Lawyer?
If you are involved in a car wreck that was someone else’s fault, you’re probably wondering whether and when you should hire an Oregon car accident lawyer. The answer is as soon as possible. A lawyer may be able to help resolve your legal issues.
Wherever you live in Oregon—be it Portland, Eugene, Salem or any other town—if you have suffered serious physical injuries, experienced pain and suffering as a result, or have incurred major property damage, call a lawyer as soon as possible.
Do not speak to the person responsible for the accident, his lawyer or his insurance company until you have hired an attorney. You do not want to say anything or agree to any offers without guidance from an Oregon car accident attorney.
Since most personal injury lawyers work on contingency, you won’t have to pay money up front. So there’s no need to delay hiring one.
Oregon Car Accident Law
Personal injury law in Oregon provides physical, mental and financial compensation to victims of car crashes.
If you were injured in an Oregon car accident, you have to prove the person responsible for the car accident injury was negligent to win compensation.
To win your car accident lawsuit in Oregon, you also have to prove you suffered damages, or a financial loss. You must prove the other person caused the damages. You must prove the person failed to use ordinary care. Lastly, you must prove the person who caused your injury owes you a duty of care.
If you were partially responsible for the car accident, the amount you recover depends how much at fault you are. Under Oregon comparative negligence law, this is based on percentages.
If you were more than 51 percent at fault in an accident you cannot recover damages. If you were less than 50 percent at fault, you can recover damages. Yet the amount you receive will be reduced depending on how much at fault you are.
If more than one person caused the car accident and your resulting injuries, both must share the cost of damages.
Do not wait too long to hire an attorney. There are statutes of limitations for filing a personal injury lawsuit in Oregon. You have two years to file a lawsuit.
Your car accident lawyer will need time to work with you and establish your case. This includes gathering important documents and evidence, performing additional investigations if necessary, creating a legal strategy and negotiating with other lawyers.
Hiring an Oregon Car Accident Attorney
The first step is to hire an attorney. If you’ve never hired an Oregon car accident attorney before, ask friends, family members or business associates to recommend a personal injury lawyer they’ve previously used.
Or visit Attorneys.com. Complete the form on this site, or call 1-877-913-7222 to answer a few questions. We will provide you with the name and contact information of at least one lawyer who handles Oregon auto accidents. You can call the lawyer directly, or the lawyer will contact you within two business days.
Then schedule an initial consultation with a car accident lawyer. Initial consultations are meetings to get to know attorneys and decide which one to hire.
Initial consultations are also the time to ask lawyers questions to ensure you find the right car accident attorney. Ask about the lawyer's experience handling car accident cases. Ask him to assess your case and offer legal guidance. Ask him how he would manage your case. In addition, ask how the lawyer will bill for his services.
An intangible aspect you also must consider is how well you trust and respect the lawyer. You could be working together for a long time, so you need to be comfortable with him.
After the initial consultations, review each lawyer’s qualifications. Determine which lawyer is the best fit for your case. If you can’t decide, ask for references and call them. Then select and attorney and hire him.