Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
New Jersey Auto Accidents
If you were injured in a New Jersey autom accident that was someone else's fault, you may be entitled to compensation to pay for:
- Past, present, and future medical bills for treatment related to your New Jersey auto-accident injuries
- The repair or replacement of your motor vehicle and any property damaged or destroyed in the traffic accident
- Lost wages for time off from work (including time spent going to doctor's appointments and physical therapy) as a result of your automobile accident
- The cost of hiring someone to do household chores you're unable to do because of your personal injury
- Permanent disability and disfigurement stemming from the New Jersey car crash
- Emotional distress stemming from the New Jersey auto accident
- Any other costs you've incurred because of the car accident
If anyone was killed in the car crash or if either driver was intoxicated, the State of New Jersey will prosecute the driver at fault and/or the intoxicated driver. However, you may still have to file a personal injury lawsuit in New Jersey courts to recover money to pay for your accident-related expenses.
Whether you live in Newark, Edison, Trenton, Cherry Hill, or elsewhere in New Jersey, a local automobile accident attorney can advise you on your specific legal options and help you collect the money to which you are entitled.
How Is Fault Determined in New Jersey Car Accidents?
To collect money stemming from a car crash injury claim, New Jersey law requires you to prove the other driver was negligent. You must show:
- The driver who caused your injuries had a duty not to injure you and failed to live up to that duty
- There is a connection between the other driver's duty and your injury
- You suffered damages, or a financial loss, as a result of the injury
New Jersey law can reduce the total amount you can recover if it's found that your carelessness contributed to your automobile accident injuries. If it is determined that you are at least 51 percent responsible for your accident, you cannot recover any money from the other party.
How Long Do You Have to File a New Jersey Auto Accident Claim?
New Jersey law gives you two years from the date of your automobile accident to file a claim against the driver at fault in the accident. (This time limit is known as the statute of limitations.)
If you and your New Jersey auto accident lawyer are unable to negotiate a settlement with the other driver (or the driver's insurance company), you should consider filing a lawsuit before the statute of limitations runs out. If you fail to file a lawsuit within two years, you will give up your rights to sue.
Where Would You File an Automobile Accident Injury Lawsuit?
If your New Jersey automobile accident claim is for less than $3,000, you would file your personal injury lawsuit in the New Jersey Small Claims Court that has jurisdiction.
For New Jersey car crash injury claims worth between $3,000 and $15,000, you would file your lawsuit in the appropriate New Jersey Special Civil Part. For claims of more than $15,000, you would file your lawsuit in the New Jersey Superior Court that has jurisdiction.
Your New Jersey auto accident lawyer can tell you which specific court is the appropriate court to resolve your dispute.
New Jersey Automobile Insurance Requirements
New Jersey laws require all drivers have the following mandatory automobile insurance:
- Personal injury protection worth at least $15,000 per person per accident
- At least $5,000 of property damage coverage