Get Started Finding a Local Attorney Now
Simply fill out this form to connect with an Attorney serving your area.
Georgia Auto Accidents
If you were injured in a Georgia automobile accident that was someone else's fault, you may be entitled to compensation to pay for:
- Past, present, and future medical bills for treatment related to your auto-accident injuries
- The repair or replacement of your motor vehicle and any property that was damaged or destroyed in the accident
- Lost wages for time off from work (including time spent going to doctor's appointments and physical therapy)
- The cost of hiring someone to do household chores that you're unable to do because of your personal injury
- Permanent disability and disfigurement stemming from the car crash
- Emotional distress stemming from the auto accident
- Any lost future earning ability due to your automobile accident injury
- Any other costs you've incurred because of the accident
If anyone was killed in the car crash or if either driver was intoxicated, the state of Georgia will prosecute the driver at fault and/or the intoxicated driver. In the case of other automobile accidents, you may ultimately have to file a car accident lawsuit in Georgia courts.
How Is Fault Determined?
To collect money stemming from a car crash injury claim, Georgia law requires you to prove that the other driver was negligent. You must show:
- The driver who caused your injuries had a responsibility not to injure you and failed to live up to that duty
- There is a connection between the other driver's responsibility and your injury
- You suffered damages, or a financial loss, as a result of the accident
Georgia law will reduce the total amount you can recover if it's found that your carelessness contributed to your automobile accident injuries.
How Long Do You Have to File a Claim in Georgia?
Georgia law gives you two years from the date of your auto accident to file a claim against the driver at fault in the accident, and four years if you are claiming loss of consortium. (This is known as the statute of limitations.) If you and your Georgia auto accident lawyer are unable to negotiate a settlement with the other driver (or the driver's insurance company), you should consider filing a lawsuit before the statute of limitations runs out.
Georgia Automobile Insurance Requirements
Georgia laws require all drivers to have liability insurance coverage with the following minimum limits:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per crash